Gluten free pizza at Zizzi

Mmmm, pizza! Today I’m reviewing Zizzi gluten-free pizza, another national chain catering for the increasing gluten-free market.

First the website: really easy to view the gluten-free menu completely or select only gluten-free items to be shown from the main menu.  There was lots of choice including a vegan option and all fully customisable.  Unlike some of the other chains I could order a gluten-free pizza online, pay and walk round the corner to collect it.

Half an hour later I picked up my pizza but was surprised to see a gluten-free and vegan sticker on the box as I hadn’t ordered the vegan version, but hey I was hungry and thought it might be interesting.

Back home I opened the box and was surprised with an ultra thin, but large pizza, nicely topped with my usual choice of spinach, artichoke and mushrooms on a Margarita base.  The toppings weren’t quite a generous as Pizza Express but the spinach was fresh rather than frozen.  It looked good – a nice wide crispy edge so I could pick it up easily and eat it with my fingers, and no soggy bottom.

As this was the vegan version, the cheese was a coconut-based ‘cheese’ which was more like a bechamel sauce, interesting and a bit thin.

The base tasted good, not only was it pretty crispy, it had a slightly sweet taste, not obviously gluten-free so no metallic after-taste unlike some other gf products, and actually slightly yeasty.  By far the closest gluten free pizza I’ve had which to a proper Italian pizza!  It was so thin and I could fold over the pizza and keep all the toppings safely inside with no danger of them falling out on my fingers or clothes, delicious!

After a while, the base did start to absorb the liquid from the topping and got slightly soggy in the middle, but I still really enjoyed it.

Overall my ratings were:

Base – 5 out of 5 for a thin, crispy and very tasty base
Flavour – 5 out of 5 for avoiding that gluten replacement taste
Toppings – 3.5 out of 5, slightly mean compared to other pizza
Choice – 4 out of 5 for making most of the pizza menu available with a gf base, vegan options and all customisable
Menu / website – 5 out of 5 for having a dedicated gf menu, easy to order and pay online

Overall 5 out of 5 – available nationally and a high standard close to a real Italian pizza, bella!

What’s your experiences of the Zizzi gf pizza? Up next time, the Prezzo gf pizza!

 

Leave a Reply

